EYFS and Key Stage One

Our Classes:
🇮🇪 Ireland – Maria Hattersley – maria.hattersley@abbotsleaschool.co.uk
🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿 Wales – Emily Cooney – emily.cooney@abbotsleaschool.co.uk


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) applies to children from birth to the end of the academic year in which a child has their fifth birthday.

The EYFS is statutory and is detailed under the Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage. It forms a basis for developing essential skills such as communication, listening, persistence and collaborating with each other. The three prime areas cover the knowledge and skills which are the foundations for future progress, and which are applied and reinforced by the specific areas. All areas of learning are equally important and are interlinked.

Prime areas:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical development

Specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive arts and design

At Abbot’s Lea School we continue each child’s journey through the EYFS into Key Stage One as this enables us to show progress against each child’s individual next steps. We build their resilience and ability to follow a routine and develop their engagement with adult led activities and group circle times where appropriate.

< Back to previous